• Feature Shoot
  • Posts
  • SEO for photoshoot ideas and creating timely projects

SEO for photoshoot ideas and creating timely projects

Unexpected Ways SEO Can Benefit Your Photography

For many years, I’d hear the three letters “SEO” and roll my eyes. SEO brings up connotations of cheesy articles with weird, random words strewn together and scattered throughout an article that seem to simultaneously say the same thing repeatedly and yet absolutely nothing at all.

Aside from sponsored posts on Feature Shoot, which we utilize SEO for, we’ve paid little attention to it over the last 15 years. This has been both a curse and a blessing. On one hand, Feature Shoot has missed out on a ton of traffic. When we have written an article for SEO purposes (maybe five articles in 15 years), they quickly become the most popular. So, of course, I see the value in that. But on the flip side, I’m grateful that we have not been sucked into creating posts just for the clicks. And I’ve seen others in the photo space stoop quite low for traffic. But I digress…

All of that aside, SEO, in and of itself, is a fascinating tool. And to my surprise, when I first started getting into it, I found myself going down a rabbit hole pretty quickly. If you’ve never had a blog before (and didn’t bother with it for your website…most don’t), then it’s easy to think that it’s not worth the effort. However, I think of it as a window into the public mindset. It’s the best way to stay on top of trends in almost all industries. For photographers, you can use this information to your advantage in ways you might not expect. 

Here’s how.

Subscribe to Premium to read the rest.

Become a paying subscriber of Premium to get access to this post and other subscriber-only content.

Already a paying subscriber? Sign In.

A subscription gets you:

  • • Unlock members-only articles with industry leaders
  • • Submit your work for free to Feature Shoot's newsletter, Featureshoot.com, and Instagram (normally $25)
  • • Monthly curated list of contests, grants and opportunities for photographers

Reply

or to participate.